New DUI Laws for June 2016

New DUI Laws for 2016

The Washington State Legislature has passed two new bills that further increase penalties for DUIs.  Over the past few years Washington has created more aggressive laws to punish DUI offenders than virtually any other state, these two laws will further that trend.

The first bill increases the classification of a felony DUI from class C to class B.  A class B felony has a maximum possible sentence of 10 years in prison and a $20,000 fine.  This doubles the maximum penalty from a class C felony.

A DUI is charges as a felony when a person is has 4 or more DUIs within the prior 10 years or a person charged with DUI has a prior conviction of vehicular assault or vehicular homicide while under the influence of alcohol.

The second law reduces the amount of time a person has to request a Department of Licensing hearing from 20 days to only 7 days.  Additionally, it sets that hearing within 30 days, down from 60 days.  This particular law goes into effect January 1, 2019

These new laws take effect June 9th, 2016.