Expunge Your Oregon Record
If you have a criminal charge that is preventing you from getting that job, promotion or that apartment, it may be possible to expunge or erase the conviction from your criminal record. Expunging a conviction in Oregon acts as if the crime never occurred and the court will order the record of the case sealed.
Expunging Conviction Records
You may qualify to expunge your Oregon conviction if you have complied with all the conditions of your sentence including paying off your fines. In addition, you have to stay crime free for a certain amount of time prior to petitioning the court to expunge:
- Violations, Class B and C Misdemeanors – 1 year
- Class A Misdemeanors – 3 years
- Class C Felonies – 5 years
- Class B non-person felonies – 7 years
Expunging Records of Arrest
If you have been arrested, but not convicted of a crime, Oregon law allows you to expunge or erase the record of your arrest. Once the court expunged your arrest record, your record is sealed from public view and it will not show up on a background check. In order to seal your arrest record, you have to meet the same waiting period as above.
For example, if your charges were dropped for a class C felony, you could not have another conviction on your record for the previous 5 years prior to expunging the dismissed felony.
Right to Possess Firearms
Under certain conditions, expunging your Oregon criminal charge will restore your right to possess a firearm. This area of law is tricky and it’s always a good idea to consult with an attorney before making any assumptions with your gun rights.
Contact an Experienced Oregon Expungement Attorney
We offer a free consultation to walk you through whether you qualify to expunge your Oregon criminal history. Call 360-975-4673 or send us a message through this website.