Assault 2 Domestic Violence Lawyer
Assault in the Second Degree is a serious felony charge with severe consequences in the state of Washington. An Assault 2 DV is also a crime that can be charged for conduct that is similar to misdemeanor assault charges.
An assault in the second degree can be committed in several ways:
- Intentionally assaulting someone and thereby causing substantial bodily injury
- Assaulting another person by strangulation or suffocation.
- Assaulting another with a deadly weapon.
- Intentionally and unlawfully causes harm to an unborn child by intentionally and unlawfully inflicting injury on the mother of the unborn child.
- Knowingly inflicts bodily harm which by design causes such pain or agony as to be the equivalent of that produced by torture
- Assaults another person with the intent to commit a felony.
Strangulation or Suffocation Domestic Violence
The most common Assault 2 DV charge I come across is an assault by strangulation. Cases that would otherwise be charged as a misdemeanor Assault 4 DV are charged as a felony because of a complaint of suffocation or strangulation.
Although an assault 2 is a serious felony with sever consequences, it is not difficult to be accused of the crime. When an alleged victim complains that his or her airflow was obstructed by the accused, an assault 2 can be charged. Police are trained to ask whether the alleged victim had difficulty breathing and often the alleged victim at the time does not aware of the severity of the crime that will be charged.
Consequences of an Assault 2 DV Conviction
Assault 2 Domestic Violence is a Class B felony, which carries a maximum sentence of 10 years in prison and a maximum fine of $20,000. An assault in the second degree DV also counts as a strike under Washington’s persistent offender law, otherwise known as the Three Strikes Law. A third strike in the State of Washington results in life in prison.
Other consequences include:
- Prison time under Washington’s Felony Sentencing Guidelines.
- A No Contact Order for up to 10 years.
- Loss of Firearm Rights
- Criminal record for life that cannot be vacated or expunged.
- Loss of job, housing, reputation.
Experienced Assault 2 DV Attorney
Kris Carrasco has handled hundreds of domestic violence cases. If you are charged with an Assault 2 DV it is important that you hire an experienced domestic violence attorney immediately. Contact our office today at, (360) 975-4673, for a free consultation to go over your charge.